ScoredApps
Kings Do Not Fall icon

Kings Do Not Fall

ActionGoogle Play
5.0/10
Our score
1K+ installs
Reviewed by Editorial Team, ScoredApps editorial · updated 2026-09-21

Screenshots

Title screen — King Alden and a goblin flank the sword logo with Continue, New Game and Top 30 optionsAlden's flaming strike lands on goblins by a red barn, 3 Hits on the counterA dialogue box in a graveyard: Human king, your reign ends hereA skeleton knight explodes under a hit beside a stone cross, 4 HitsBlue lightning super attack fills a dark courtyard with the virtual buttons overlaidAlden battles a burning enemy amid flames, 3 Hits and a boss health bar

About Kings Do Not Fall

Kings Do Not Fall is a 1990s-style beat 'em up from Hyperdevbox Japan and Carlo Perconti, the programmer of Legend on the Super Nintendo: King Alden fights goblins, orcs and the restless dead through six levels with bosses, a shop between stages, combos, super attacks and a CRT filter. On Android since July 2026 it is free with ads and paid continues, on Android 7.1 or newer; Steam sells it for $4.99. The virtual D-pad is the complaint.

Game information

DeveloperHyperDevbox
Version3.0
Size482 MB
Price / In-appFree
Contains adsYes
In-app purchasesYes
Content ratingTeen
Requires (Android)Android 7.1+
Offline modeNot stated — ads, continues and leaderboard need a connection
Installs1K+
Data checked2026-09-21

Specs come from the official store listings and were last checked on 2026-09-21. Developers change pricing and requirements — check the store page before installing.

Kings Do Not Fall Review: A Real 90s Brawler Paid For by the Continue

Six Levels, Bosses, a Shop and a CRT Filter From the Man Who Made Legend

The listing tells you who made it before what it is: Carlo Perconti, born 1966, programmer of Legend and Iron Commando on Super Nintendo, Burning Road on PlayStation and Soulfighter on Dreamcast, with longtime collaborator Lyes Belaidouni, returning to the beat 'em up more than three decades after Legend. The game is King Alden of Solara against Umbra's goblins, orcs and restless dead across six hand-crafted levels ending in bosses, with combo moves, smash attacks, different weapons and super attacks, a shop between levels where gold buys and sells items, and a CRT mode. A Steam reviewer who remembers Legend from the SNES calls the aesthetics great with the optional CRT filter; another, with 6.7 hours, admits the amount of AI used in development will draw complaints but admires the design and finds the controls satisfying once learned. On Steam it arrived April 15, 2026 at $4.99 with eight achievements and leaderboards; all three reviews are positive.

Eleven Reviews, a Top-30 Leaderboard, and a D-Pad That Divides Them

Eleven Google Play reviews since the late-July 2026 launch, 7 five-star, in five languages, and the developer answers each — usually with a wish that you make the top-30 leaderboard. A Japanese five-star says it feels exactly like a 90s arcade game and wants to compete with the world; an August 22 review gives the graphics 100/100. The two critical reviews are about the same thing. A Russian two-star from July 31 calls the controls terrible without a gamepad and notes there is no easy, normal or hard mode, conceding only the graphics; an August 14 three-star finds the left-right-up-down virtual joystick hard for movement, wants a circular pad, cannot pick up gold during fights before it fades, and does not know how to use potions. Hyperdevbox's replies say the D-pad already works as a circular pad if you keep your finger down, the button size can be changed, and potions are on B. Version 3.0 arrived September 9, 2026.

Free, Ads Between Levels, and Lives Sold Four at a Time

The Android model is the arcade one: free to install with ads, and continues bought with money — a French three-star from July 27 puts it at 0.69 per four lives and asks instead for a one-time purchase with four or five continues, promising five stars in return; the developer replied that eight lives should carry a player through the six levels because gold can be exchanged. Version 3.0 changed the terms: from 3.0, purchasing a Continue removes advertisements between levels. Google Play lists purchases from $0.99 to $99.99 per item, and the data-safety card says personal info, financial info and three other types are collected, with app activity shared. It requires Android 7.1 or newer, rated Teen for fantasy violence and language, with no size stated, 1,000-plus installs and no star rating displayed; there is no iOS version. The Steam version is the clean alternative: $4.99, no ads, no continues to buy. Prices vary by region.

Pros

  • A genuine 90s beat 'em up from the programmer of Legend and Iron Commando
  • Six levels with bosses, a between-level shop, combos and super attacks
  • CRT filter and 16:9 arcade art that reviewers rate 100/100
  • Global top-30 leaderboard and developer replies to every review
  • $4.99 on Steam with no ads if you would rather pay once

Cons

  • Virtual D-pad called unplayable without a gamepad by one reviewer
  • Continues sold for money — about 0.69 per four lives — with ads until you buy one
  • No difficulty select; gold fades before you can grab it mid-fight
  • Personal and financial info collected; AI-assisted assets noted on Steam
Download From Google PlayNot on the App Store

We don't host any files. These buttons open the official Google Play and App Store listings.

Verdict

A 5.0: an authentic 90s beat 'em up from someone who made the originals, wearing an arcade business model that fits worse on a phone than in a cabinet — ads until you buy a continue, lives by the pack, and a virtual pad that needs explaining. Take it if you have a gamepad and want Legend's spirit on the go, or buy it on Steam for $4.99. Skip it if paying per death or wrestling a D-pad is not your idea of nostalgia.

Gameplay6Classic side-scrolling brawling with weapons and supers, six stages long; button-mashing nostalgia by design.
Controls4A D-pad drawn as four arrows that is secretly circular — the developer keeps explaining it, which is the problem.
Replay value5Six levels and a top-30 leaderboard to chase; each replay costs lives or ad views.
Graphics & sound7Painted arcade backdrops, fire and lightning effects, an optional CRT scanline mode.
Monetisation4Ads plus paid continues with a $99.99 item ceiling and a heavy data card; buying a continue at least ends the ads.
5.0out of 10 · weighted average of the five scores above

Frequently asked questions

1

Can you play Kings Do Not Fall offline?

Not stated. The brawling is single-player, but the game shows ads between levels, sells continues and posts scores to a global top-30 leaderboard, all of which use a connection. Expect it to run in aeroplane mode only if the ads are skipped and scores held back; test it after the first session.

2

Is Kings Do Not Fall free?

Free to install with ads. Continues are bought — about 0.69 per four lives, per a July 2026 French review — and since version 3.0 buying a continue also removes the ads between levels. Google Play lists items from $0.99 to $99.99. The Steam version is $4.99 outright with no ads. Prices vary by region.

3

What phone do you need for Kings Do Not Fall?

Android 7.1 or newer; the listing states no size. The real requirement is a controller: a Russian reviewer found the virtual pad unplayable without one, and the developer's advice is to enlarge the buttons or use a gamepad. The PC version wants an RTX 2060-class GPU and a 16:9 display. There is no iPhone version.

4

Can you play Kings Do Not Fall with friends?

No. Unlike the 90s arcade brawlers it imitates, it is single-player only on Android and Steam — one king, no second player. The social element is the global top-30 high-score table the developer mentions in nearly every review reply.

5

How long is Kings Do Not Fall?

Six levels; a Steam reviewer logged 2.3 hours and another 6.7 with replays. The developer says eight lives should be enough to finish if you trade gold wisely, which is also the pitch for buying continues. Once finished, the leaderboard is the reason to play again.

Similar games in Action

All in Action →

About this page. ScoredApps reviewed Kings Do Not Fall independently. We don't own, develop, or distribute this app, and we're not affiliated with HyperDevbox. Official site: hyperdevbox.com · Google Play listing · Developer support: info@hyperdevbox.com